Lauren’s Top 5: Film Franchises

Image

I was trying to come up with something short to write about, as my HSC trial exams are kind of taking up the majority of my time and brain power. Spending a few hours writing an essay on anything other than my texts for Year 12 English is really not in my best interest at the moment. So, I thought I’d just take a few minutes to partake in a nerd rant about my all-time favourite film franchises, and what you are (or aren’t if you’re cool) missing out on.

1. HARRY POTTER

It’s the highest grossing film franchise of all time. It has its own theme park. This one is a given. Harry Potter trumps everything. If you haven’t seen them, I just feel complete pity for you. Also, The Prisoner of Azkaban is the best one. The introduction of time turners, Sirius and Lupin, and a Voldemort-free year makes it undoubtedly awesome. The books are still better, but the movies are some of the best book to film adaptations I’ve seen. The atmosphere and magic of the books remains prominent through all the films, and even if some things are missing, the main points are all there. I cry everytime I hear Hedwig’s theme, and I’m not ashamed.

2. MARVEL

Iron Man. The Incredible Hulk. Thor. Captain America. The Avengers. The third-highest grossing film franchise, with The Avengers being the highest-grossing film in 2012, and Iron Man 3 taking the spot for 2013 (so far). And I’m definitely a fan of quality over quantity (in this case, quantity = billions of dollars) when it comes to movies, but the Marvel Cinematic Universe encompasses both Q’s. Thor: The Dark World is slated for Australian release on October 31, Captain America: The Winter Soldier for April 4th, 2014 in the US. Guardians of the Galaxy is set for 2014 (although I’m not particularly excited for it), and The Avengers: Age of Ultron for May 1st, 2015 – the year of empty wallets. Also, Joss Whedon’s upcoming TV series, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. airs September 24th!

3. MIDDLE EARTH/ TOLKIEN

I would, without a doubt, say that The Lord of the Rings films are the best book to film adaptations in the history of cinema. The Hobbit so far has also exceeded my expectations. Peter Jackson is a directing mastermind. The Franchise is the fifth-highest grossing film franchise, just falling behind Star Wars (which I also adore to pieces, but it doesn’t make the top 5 for me). Jackson’s films have accumulated 17 Academy Awards. SEVENTEEN. I don’t have a favourite out of the films, as in my mind they sort of all combine into one film of about 10 hours length.

4. STAR TREK (reboot)

I’m going to admit to something. I haven’t watched the original Star Trek movies. I’m working my way through the original series at the moment, and won’t let myself watch the films until I’ve finished. But anyways, the reboots are amazing. Probably the best reboot of anything I’ve ever seen, with perfect casting, perfect directing and storytelling. The only thing that sort of gets on my nerves if I concentrate on it too much is J.J. Abrams overuse of lens flares. But he does a great job of not making the rebooted films just for die-hard trekkies, but for newer fans as well.

5. BACK TO THE FUTURE.

Some people really don’t like the Back to the Future trilogy, or they only like the first out of the three, but all three of the films hold a special place in my heart. They are just so much fun. The VFX is pretty good for the 1980s. Also, time travel. Mostly time travel. And I had a kiddie crush on Marty McFly when I was younger. I still wish I had my own flux capacitor powered DoLorean.

So, if you ever feel like having a movie marathon, having a themed franchise marathon is kind of the best thing. Although if you are doing the Harry Potter films, you will need a sleeping break, and your brain will explode by the end. Speaking of brains exploding, I’m going kind of nuts during my trial exam period, as what I originally estimated would be a half-hour writing has now turned into a two-hour nerd fest. And I really just want to watch all of these movies again.

Happy procrastinating,

Lauren 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lauren’s Top 5: Film Franchises

  1. Pingback: Frozen Review | Lauren criticizes things.

Leave a Reply

